NaNoWriMo

Saturday, 11-1 is the beginning of “NaNoWriMo” or “National Novel Writing Month.”  Yes, I am participating.  I like the idea of trying something new and also the idea of participating in a world wide event.

Although writing is a solitary endeavor, it does help to know others are pushing themselves to the same goal.  Kind of like running.  Each runner must be intrinsically motivated to start in the first place, but I often enjoy having someone running at my side.  Even if we don’t talk.

The goal for NaNoWriMo is to expel 50k words in November, which works out to about 1600 words per day.  I feel that this is completely doable, since I already have the story arc for “Flower Girl” in my mind.  I have many details worked out, but I know approximately 20% of the magic will happen when I start to write.  I can’t wait to start writing.  I feel like I have been on a diet from writing while finishing up the editing on my first book, “Subway Girl.”  Come on Novemeber!!!

Leave a Reply

