Monday’s Musing – Books!

1781905_10204966310870286_1071978882384250625_n

My goal for 2015 of reading more and reading greater variety has lead to a stack of book that I would like to tell you about:

Show Your Work, by Austin Kleon.  A quickie.  I leave it on my desk at work and read it when I am on hold.  It is a fun book, inspirational for any artist, musician, or writer.  I don’t need inspiration to write, I need inspiration to “Show my work” and Kleon provides plenty of ideas.  He has a few books out and also writes an awesome blog.

Manage Your Day-to-Day, edited by Jocelyn K. Glei.  The long subtitle is “Build your routine, find your focus, and sharpen your creative mind.”  There is a long list of contributors and this is another book meant to inspire that can be read in little bits.  This one has a lot of good information about chasing your dream and not wasting your time.

Damn Good Advice (for people with talent) by George Lois.  I almost couldn’t bring myself to buy this book because I like to pretend to be humble, but I am so glad I did.  Yet another book intended to boost creativity, except this one is more like a kick in the pants rather than a pat on the back.

Looking for Alaska, by John Green.  YA – as in “Ya for me, I am reading some ‘Young Adult’ fiction, which is not my usual genre.  I enjoyed the first half of this book, the second half – not so much.  At least I didn’t cry a bucket an ruin a perfectly good pair of contacts, like I did with “The Fault in our Stars.”  Partly because I have been wearing glasses, partly because this one only provide one punch in the gut and TFIOS was a perpetual beating.

The Martian, by Andy Weir.  I do not read Science Fiction.  Or at last I didn’t.  The other day I wanted a new book and because I am trying to broaden my horizons I said, “I will just go to the NY Times list of bestsellers and buy either # 3 or 4.  This is #4.  The lead is fantastic, but I am barely into it.

The Rosie Effect, by Graeme Sismsion.  A cute little romantic comedy that left me wanting. Is that a good thing?  I’m not sure.  Having a narrator with Asperger’s syndrome is a clever idea, but I’ve read it before.  (The Curios Incident of the Dog in the Night).  This book was not a waste of time.

Mindfulness for Beginners, by Jon Kabat-Zinn.  I keep plugging away at this topic, keep trying.  This book is excellent and comes with a CD of guided meditation.

Mad Ball:  The Bartman Play, by Hoffman and Yurkanin.  I bought this as research for my second book “Flower Girl”, but I kind of wish I hadn’t.  I needed to know about the Bartman play and this book gave me way more information than I needed.  Way more.  You’d have to be more into baseball than I am to enjoy this, but there are plenty of people who fit that description.

Guess what else I read this week! Poetry!  If I keep becoming so well-rounded I might lose my edge.  Here was the best poem I read, although it reads more like a joke:

 

“10 reasons why your relationship isn’t working”

(turn the page)

“She likes to be fingered and you have no hands.”

I.E. Wong gets the credit for that one.  He also writes a very clever blog and has a short book of poems called “Tin Lion.

3 thoughts on “Monday’s Musing – Books!”

Leave a Reply

