The Y in the Road

It seemed like a Y, that day in the parking lot. You two went one way, I went the other.

I imagined you veering off from me, further and further away, and my heart broke. Then I realized it is your dad’s branch, not your’s. You are free to go back and forth. You couldn’t hold the branch together, that was never you job, but there’s love for you on both sides.

You are mine. You always will be my boo. Just look down at your belly button whenever you doubt that.

 

Our song:

 

Just you and me, sitting under a tree,

You and me, you and me,

talking about electrons and God and space

Why a twisted donut is better than a bar

 

Just you and me, sitting under a tree

You and me, you and me

I ask what you’re thinking

And you thank me for asking

 

Talking bout’ Fibonacci and doing art

Listening to Neil Young

and I won’t stop singing

Mom’s are meant to sing

 

Just you and me, sitting under a tree

You and me, you and me

It will always be

You and me under a tree

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 thought on “The Y in the Road”

Leave a Reply

